RELIGION

Black Smoke At Sistine Chapel: No Pope Elected

Mar 13, 2013 | Updated Mar 13, 2013

With a puff of black smoke from the Sistine Chapel chimney on Wednesday morning in Rome, the Catholic Church's College of Cardinals signaled they haven't decided on the new pope after two rounds of voting on Wednesday, the second day of the papal conclave.

The smoke appeared at 6:39 a.m. EDT (11:39 a.m. CET).

The Church's 115 cardinals will meet again Wednesday afternoon to vote on the new pope. A cardinal needs at least 77 votes to become pope. There will be up to four votes per day until a pope is elected.

Depending on when the winning vote is taken, white smoke will arise from the Sistine Chapel at 5:30 a.m. EDT (10:30 a.m. CET), 7 a.m. EDT (12 p.m. CET), 12:30 p.m. EDT (5:30 p.m. CET) or 2 p.m. EDT (7 p.m. CET). If no pope was elected, black smoke will arise from the chapel's chimney at 7 a.m. EDT (12 p.m. CET) and 2 p.m. EDT (7 p.m. CET). All times are estimates based on prior papal elections and predictions from the Vatican. Actual times can vary.

The new pope has to accept the position before white smoke is released. If smoke is released at night as it was on Tuesday, the Sistine Chapel chimney will be lit up so onlookers can see the smoke.

If there's no election by Friday, cardinals will pause on Saturday for a day of reflection and prayer. The voting would continue in that pattern (three days of voting with a one-day break) until the 34th voting round. Then there would be a runoff between the top two candidates.

When a pope is chosen and white smoke arises from the chapel, the bells of St.Peter's Basilica will ring, as they did in 2005 when Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI was elected. It took about 40 minutes between the white smoke and official announcement when Benedict became pope.

This year, it will be French Cardinal Jean-Louis Tauran, the senior cardinal deacon, who will stand on the balcony of St. Peter's Basilica to shout "Habemus Papam!" ("We have a pope!"). He'll present the new pope, who will be in white papal cassocks (three sizes are kept on reserve) and give his first blessing as pope.

Also on HuffPost:

Conclave Begins

1,114 Comments